Strange Symmetry

2672279652_03261c0d0b_o.jpg

I recall having a conversation with a friend about the beauty of mathematics. I felt and still feel that math is the simplest and most straightforward form of communication. Geometry in particular, I argued is the natural extension and simplification of how people view and interpret their surroundings. Let’s just say my words fell on deaf ears, my friend, like most people, did not have particularly fond memories of math class and was quite happy that she no longer had to memorize multiplication tables. Now, if I had Andy Gilmore‘s illustrations I think my point would have come across better. Andy is a designer, illustrator and musician from Rochester. He uses geometric shapes and patterns to create breathtaking images. So will these images convince people that math is cool? Probably not, but as long they consider it beautiful I’d be satisfied.

2779397633_ee6e6daec8_o.jpg

For more gorgeous images check out Andy’s flickr photostream.
add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank post to facebook

About Dapper Alchemist

The Dapper Alchemist is an amalgam of my interests in science, design and (men's) fashion.

Leave a Reply

